Board Members

The Gulf Coast Water Authority is governed by a ten (10) member Board of Directors. They are appointed in the following manner:

Five (5) by Galveston County Commissioners Court with two (2) being representatives of Industry, one (1) being a representative of Municipalities and two (2) being representatives at-large; Three (3) members by Brazoria County Commissioners Court with one (1) being a representative of Industry, one (1) being a representative of Municipalities and one (1) being a representative of Agriculture; and two (2) members by Fort Bend County Commissioners Court with one (1) being a representative of Municipalities and one (1) being a representative at-large.  Appointees serve two year terms, staggered five one year, and five the next year. Term of office coincides with the Authority’s fiscal year, beginning September 1st. 

GCWA Board of Director Appointments:

Director Position Representation Term E-mail Address
1030-Russell Jones-board Russell C. Jones President Fort Bend County At-Large Pos. 1 2015-2017 rjones@gcwater.org
BixRathburn C. B. "Bix" Rathburn Ph.D. Vice President Galveston County Industrial Pos. 2 2016-2018 brathburn@gcwater.org
1033-Eric Wilson-board Eric Wilson Secretary Brazoria County Municipal Pos. 1 2015-2017 ewilson@gcwater.org
Bennie Jones Jr. Treasurer Brazoria County Industrial Pos. 1 2016-2018 bjonesjr@gcwater.org
bradmatlock Brad Matlock P.E. Assistant Secretary Galveston County At-Large Pos. 2 2016-2018 bmatlock@gcwater.org
James McWhorter James McWhorter P.E. Director Galveston County Municipal Pos. 1 2015-2017 jmcwhorter@gcwater.org
Shane Hamilton Shane Hamilton Director Galveston County At-Large Pos. 1 2015-2017 shamilton@gcwater.org
CliffMock Cliff Mock Director Brazoria County Agricultural Pos. 1 2016-2018 cmock@gcwater.org
Dave Leaver Director Galveston County Industrial Pos. 1 2017-2018 dleaver@gcwater.org
Mike O'Connell Director Fort Bend County At-Large Pos. 1 2016-2018 moconnell@gcwater.org